The 2020 Mythopoeic Awards finalists were posted December 8. The Mythopoeic Awards are chosen from books nominated by individual members of the Mythopoeic Society, and selected by a committee of Society members. The winners of this year’s awards will be announced in early … Continue reading →
(1) PRESCIENT PANDEMIC PROSE PRAISED. [Item by Olav Rokne.] In a thoughtful and in-depth piece about plague-related fiction, Joelle Renstrom (@couldthishappen) of Slate Magazine explores how Connie Willis’ 1992 Hugo Winner Doomsday Book seems particularly relevant in 2020. “Doomsday Book, the 1992 time-travel … Continue reading →
By Mike Glyer: Walter Jon Williams’ Fleet Elements – out today — is set in the same universe as his Dread Empire’s Fall series, where the demise of the ruling Shaa created a power vacuum which their subject species – including the … Continue reading →
The voters have spoken: here are the Best Books 2020 — Goodreads Choice Awards winners. Goodreads also has posted the vote totals for the top 20 finishers in each category. There were in aggregate 5,674,480 votes cast in all rounds. … Continue reading →
(1) WHERE THE BLOOD STILL PULSES – SO TO SPEAK. R.S. Benedict’s article for Blood Knife “How Horror Makes Itself Ungovernable” says that horror alone resists the corporatization of geek culture. …Geek culture—comic books, video games, sci-fi, fantasy—is mainstream now, … Continue reading →
Laura Resnick announced on Facebook today that Shahid Mahmud, publisher of Galaxy’s Edge and Arc Manor Books, is launching the Mike Resnick Memorial Award for Short Fiction. “In keeping with Mike’s philosophy of helping new writers, the award will be … Continue reading →
Sam Flegal and his business partner Pete Mohrbacher who run One Fantastic Workshop uploaded a video to YouTube in late October titled “Accusations Addressed,” responding to charges such as those included in File 770’s roundup of social media, “Artists Corroborate … Continue reading →
The Libertarian Futurist Society has selected five finalists for the 2021 Prometheus Hall of Fame Award for Best Classic Fiction. The Winter of the World, a 1975 novel by Poul Anderson “As Easy as A.B.C.,” a 1912 novelette by Rudyard Kipling … Continue reading →
(1) MACHINE AGAINST THE RAGE. Get your Murderbot fix from Twitter’s MurderBotBot. (2) KEEP THE ARMOR ON THE SHELF. The Society for Creative Anachronism has extended its suspension to the end of May 2021: “Resolution to Suspend In-Person SCA Activity … Continue reading →
The winner of the 2020 Petrona Award for the Best Scandinavian Crime Novel of the Year was announced in a virtual ceremony on December 3. Little Siberia by Antti Tuomainen, Translated by David Hackston (Orenda Books; Finland) The author and the translator of … Continue reading →
Dream Foundry has announced the finalists in its contests for speculative fiction writers and artists.  The Writing Contest finalists are: Jennifer Bushroe Tehnuka Ilanko Allison King Monique Laban Julia Leef P.H. Low Finn McLellan Rodrigo Assis Mesquita Lisabelle Tay Nick Thomas … Continue reading →
(1) WORLDWIDE SFF. The editor makes his pitch: “Celebrating International Speculative Fiction: Lavie Tidhar on The Best of World SF Anthology”. …I spent the past decade trying to pitch a simple idea to publishers: a mass market anthology of international speculative fiction … Continue reading →
Audible has deflected criticism of their returns policy by curtailing the time when a return would be charged against a writer’s royalties from a year to seven days. However, the authors who initially raised the issue question what difference that … Continue reading →
(1) SFPA OFFICER ELECTIONS. The Science Fiction and Fantasy Poetry Association announced the outcome of its recent elections. Incumbent President, Bryan Thao Worra, was voted in to continue.The new Vice President is Colleen Anderson, and the new Secretary is Brian … Continue reading →
The Speculative Literature Foundation has announced that Kanyinsola Olorunnisola is the winner of the 2020 Diverse Writers Grant and Tatiana Schlote-Bonne is the winner of the 2020 Diverse Worlds Grant. Olorunnisola was awarded the Diverse Writers Grant for his work … Continue reading →